Five 2017 IIHS Top Safety Pick + Recipients

November 3rd, 2017 by

Everyone is on the same page when safety is concerned: the safer a vehicle is, the better. When you’re shopping for a new car, there should never be a question in your mind about its safety. At Toyota, you can rest assured that every car in the lineup has earned IIHS Top Safety Pick honors. Even more, we have five Toyota models at the top of their class, receiving the IIHS Top Safety Pick + rating.

What Does IIHS Top Safety Pick + Mean?

To be deemed a top safety pick from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, a vehicle must meet stringent standards. It has to earn a ‘good’ rating or better in five crash tests, plus an ‘advanced’ or ‘superior’ rating in front crash prevention. But it can go further yet.

To receive the IIHS Top Safety Pick + rating, a vehicle must perform even better. In addition to the crash ratings and front crash prevention, it must have headlight performance of ‘acceptable’ or ‘good’. It’s with the intention that improved lighting helps you as a driver to see a collision before it happens and avoid it.

Which Models are IIHS Top Safety Pick + Earners?

For the 2017 model year, Toyota has five vehicles that have reached the top of the list:

  • 2017 Toyota Corolla  
  • 2017 Toyota RAV4
  • 2017 Toyota Prius
  • 2017 Toyota Highlander
  • 2017 Toyota Yaris iA

In each of these models, as well as every other Toyota, you’ll find Toyota Safety Sense technology built in. Toyota’s STAR safety features are also used to build every one of these models. Elevating many Toyota models further are driver-assistive technologies such as Dynamic Radar Cruise Control, Blind Spot Information System, Lane Departure Warning, and much more.


Keep you and your family safe with one of the industry’s safest vehicles from Toyota. You’ll find a great selection of new and used Toyota models at Jay Wolfe Toyota of West County, where the service and customer experience is second to none.

Posted in Toyota